Religious Studies Honor Society Inducts New Members

Religious Studies Honor Society Inducts New Members


Religious Studies Honor Society Inducts New Members

[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]Religious Studies Honor Society Initiates New Members - Spring 2017[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]The Athens State University Theta Alpha Kappa, Chapter Alpha Nu Alpha, held its first induction ceremony on May 2, 2017 in the Founders Hall Chapel. This Honor Society is part of the undergraduate and graduate Religious Studies programs in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Faculty who were inducted include Dr. Debra Baird, Dr. Ron Fritze, Dr. Tony Moyers, Dr. Robert White, and Dr. Joe Delap, Chapter Moderator. Honorary members include Dr. Eric Betts, Ms. Bethlynn Sanders, and Mr. Clarence Wooley.

Graduate students inducted were Ms. Candace Burnham, Mr. William Claborn, Ms. Hannah Moore, Mr. Kelton L. Riley, and Ms. Susan Szczepanski. Undergraduate students inducted include Ms. Geneva Blackmer, Ms. Tiffany Blackwell, Ms. Meghann Cook, Mr. Andrew Daniels, Mr. Dylan Harvey, Mr. Johnny Morgan, and Mr. Drake Whitten.

Theta Alpha Kappa is a society for the purposes of honoring outstanding students in the fields of religious studies and theology. To be eligible for nomination, students must be in the top 35% of their class, have a 3.5 GPA in religious studies or theology courses, and have an overall GPA of 3.0. It is the only national honor society in religious studies at both baccalaureate and post-baccalaureate levels of higher education.

Benefits of membership are the recognition of excellence academically, publishing and scholarship programs, federal employment, fulfillment of one of the requirements for entrance at the GS-7 level in many fields of federal service, and a lifetime connection to the field and others in religious studies.

The work of the local Alpha Nu Alpha Chapter will be focused on leadership and service. Newly installed officers include Kelton Riley, President; Susan Szczepanski, Vice-President; Johnny Morgan, Secreatary; and Candace Burnham, Treasure.  These leaders, along with society membership, will be actively working toward identifying and beginning service projects in fall 2017.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]