Mead Receives Delta Mu Delta Regional Award

Mead Receives Delta Mu Delta Regional Award

Dateline: October 9, 2018

Elizabeth MeadAthens State University student Elizabeth Mead was recently awarded the 2018 Delta Mu Delta Regional Award, along with a $500 scholarship, by the organization’s Board of Directors and Scholarship Committee. Awards are based on scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, and character/ethical behavior.

Mead is a senior at Athens State majoring in Accounting. She is also currently serving as President of the Alpha Iota Chapter of Delta Mu Delta at the University.

“Elizabeth was very excited to win the scholarship,” said chapter co-adviser Dr. John Berzett. “Elizabeth is a dedicated student and is very deserving of the award. Her leadership efforts with Delta Mu Delta and her scholastic achievements are very much admired and appreciated.”

Delta Mu Delta was founded at New York University in 1913 to recognize and reward superior scholastic achievement of students with concentrations in Business Administration. The Athens State chapter was originally formed in 1970 and has grown to be one of the largest and most active chapters within the national organization. The Athens State chapter was the recipient of the 2018 Star Chapter Award, representing the most award-winning chapter with 17 annual recognitions, and the 2018 Anthony J. Jablonsky Outstanding Chapter Award, representing the fourth time receiving the award.

The Athens State University Delta Mu Delta Chapter is housed within the College of Business. The advisors are Dr. John Berzett and Professor Debra Vaughn.