Athens State University Foundation

In 1982, a small group of college and community leaders formed an organization to provide a base for financial and public support for Athens State University. The Athens State University Foundation was created as a privately controlled, independent organization of philanthropic aid to the institution. The Foundation is recognized as a non-profit organization under the Internal Revenue Service’s 501(c)(3) guidelines. The Foundation is managed by a volunteer Board of Directors and is staffed by university employees. The Vice President for Advancement and University Relations serves as the Executive Director of the Foundation.

While State appropriations provide a base for University operations, the Foundation has a common goal of ensuring that Athens State University continues as a top regional educational institution. The Foundation is the proper channel for private gifts from individuals, corporations, and foundations to the University. These gifts can be annual contributions or a planned gift whereby a donor provides for the University in their will or designates funds to be used in a way they determine will be the best in their long-term interest.

For more information about the Foundation contact the office at (256)233-8215 or contact Keith Ferguson by email.


Mr. Tim Lovelace

Dr. Keith Ferguson
Secretary – Treasurer, Ex-Officio

Mr. Jeffrey Abbot
Class of ’88

Mr. Fred Bickley, III

Ms. Donna Coleman
Class of ’92

Mr. Richard Chittam
Past President
Class of ’73

Mr. Tommy Coblentz

Ms. Simone Calvert
Class of ’99

Dr. Joe Delap

Ms. Naomi DuBois
Past President
Class of ’80

Dr. Mike Essary

Mr. Jerry Evans
Past President

Ms. Kathy Garrett
Class of ’81

Mr. Bill Hopkins
Class of ’90

Mr. Mark Jackson

Ms. Betty Ruth-Oliver
Class of ’82

Ms. Lisa Payne
Class of ’86

Ms. U’Meeka Smith
Class of ’03

Mr. Joseph Southers
Class of ’03

Dr. Philip Way

Mr. Andy Whitt

Hon. Charles Woodroof