Delta Mu Delta International Honorary Society Initiates New Members

Delta Mu Delta International Honorary Society Initiates New Members

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]The Spring Induction Ceremony of Athens State University’s Alpha Iota Chapter of the Delta Mu Delta International Honor Society in Business was held May 1, 2016 in McCandless Hall. The academic society inducted 43 new student members into the nationally chartered organization.  The chapter faculty advisors are Professors Kim Bell and Kim Roberts.  “We congratulate our inductees on their membership into this prestigious honor society,” states Bell.  “Their recognition is well-deserved as they rank among the top 20% of their junior and senior classes.”

This year, Delta Mu Delta presented the following awards:

  • Excellence in Teaching Award to Professor Stacie Hughes
  • DMD Medallion Award to Rochelle St. Amand
  • Outstanding Service Award to Dr. Ron Ingle
  • Delta Mu Delta Robert L. and Mildred Smoot McCall Scholarship was awarded to Corey Wood
  • Leslie Essary Distinguished Delta Mu Delta Scholarship recipient was Alexis Collins

Two honorary members were also inducted into Delta Mu Delta:

  • Professor Debra Vaughn of Athens State University
  • Mrs. Jackie Warner, HR Specialist-Training Coordinator at Carpenter Technology Corporation

Delta Mu Delta was founded at New York University in 1913 to recognize and reward superior scholastic achievement of students with concentrations in Business Administration.  The Athens State chapter was originally formed in 1970 with Professor Gene Ermert being its inaugural faculty advisor.  The chapter has grown to be one of the largest and most active chapters within the national organization.  The Athens State chapter was the recipient of the 2015 Star Chapter Award and is recognized as the most award-winning chapter with 14 annual recognitions.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]