Athens State University


Business Honor Society Takes Top National Award

Business Honor Society Takes Top National Award

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Athens State University’s Alpha Iota Chapter of the Delta Mu Delta Honor Society was recognized as a Star Chapter during the organization’s biennial conference in Kansas City, Missouri. The Athens State chapter was one of 24 recipients out of 300 chapters nationwide. The chapter was also noted as the most award-winning Star Chapter in the organization’s history with 14 annual recognitions.

Star Chapters must meet or exceed Society standards for chapter operation and administration. In addition, Star Chapters must either induct at least 80% of their eligible candidates or more candidates than the previous year, participate in the scholarship program, and complete community-service projects or business-related activities on campus.

The Alpha Iota Chapter is very active on the Athens State campus. It sponsors an annual school supply drive, co-sponsors a canned food drive, and co-sponsors workshops that assist students in the job search process. In addition, student chapter members have received local and national recognition. Athens State’s Rochelle St. Amand was the recipient of the 2015 Delta Mu Delta Board Award, which included the Delta Mu Delta Robert L. and Mildred Smoot McCall Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.00.

Delta Mu Delta was founded at New York University in 1913 to recognize and reward superior scholastic achievement of students with concentrations in Business Administration. The Athens State chapter was originally formed in 1970. The chapter has grown to be one of the largest and most active chapters within the national organization.

The Athens State University Delta Mu Delta chapter is housed within the College of Business. The advisors are Professors Kim Bell and Kim Roberts.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]