Athens State University


Athens State Hosted WeTEACH Event for High School Students

Athens State Hosted WeTEACH Event for High School Students

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Athens State University’s College of Education hosted their 2nd annual We TEACH Conference on December 2. The event was crafted as an opportunity for high school students to learn more about teaching as a possible career and profession. Nearly 200 students from several school systems around the state attended the daylong meeting.

Athens State Associate Professor of Education Dr. Wanda Hutchinson, who served as the Diversity Specialist for the event, said, “It was really very gratifying to see so many young faces in the crowd who were truly excited about becoming teachers. I feel confident that this noble profession will continue to thrive for generations to come.”

The event was opened by Athens State University President Bob Glenn and consisted of five educational rotating sessions facilitated by local P-12 educators and Athens State faculty. Students were also given a campus tour. Lunch was provided and a prize giveaway period ended the event.
Alabama’s 2015-2016 Teacher of the Year, Vestavia Hills High School Instructional Coach Jennifer Brown, gave the keynote address. Brown is passionate about teaching hands-on science and empowering teacher leaders. At Vestavia Hills High, she co-founded “Leading by Learning,” a system of teacher-led instructional rounds which allows teachers the opportunity to observe, share, collaborate, and reflect with teachers of all subject areas throughout the school.

Outstanding Athens State College of Education alumni were recognized for their dedication to students. Each honoree was presented a plaque. Those honored were Dawn Burgess, Kent Chambers, B. Dwayne Craft, Demond Garth, Trey Holladay, Billy Hopkins, JoAnn Matthews, Diane Trout, and Mickey Worley.

The 3rd Annual WeTEACH Conference has been scheduled for December 7, 2016.

Picture – Left to Right:  Dr. Ron Ingle, Diane Trout,  JoAnn Matthews,  Bill Hopkins, Dawn Burgess, Dr. Wanda Hutchinson[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]