Athens State Business Honor Society Initiates New Members

Athens State Business Honor Society Initiates New Members


Athens State Business Honor Society Initiates New Members

[/vc_column_text][vc_single_image image=”39923″ img_size=”full” alignment=”center”][vc_column_text]April 30, 2018

The Spring Induction Ceremony of Athens State University’s Alpha Iota Chapter of the Delta Mu Delta International Honor Society in Business Administration was held April 22, 2018 in McCandless Hall. Delta Mu Delta is an international honor society, reserved for College of Business students who rank among the top 20% of their junior and senior classes. The academic society inducted 39 new student members into the nationally chartered organization, as well as two honorary members, Dr. Mike Haghighi and Jennifer Williams.

The following awards and scholarships were presented during the ceremony:

  • Excellence in Teaching Award – Dr. Diann Hammon
  • DMD Medallion Award – Gregory Johnston
  • Outstanding Service Award – Professor Kim Bell and Mr. Curtis Cagle
  • Robert L. and Mildred S. McCall Scholarship – Cynthia Thomas
  • Leslie Essary Distinguished Scholarship – Savannah Pearson

In addition, Ms. Alice Averette, a 1988 graduate of Athens State, received special recognition. Ms. Averette joined Delta Mu Delta in 1988 but was unable to attend her induction ceremony due to a family crisis. Ms. Averette was asked to participate in this year’s ceremony and be formally presented with her membership certificate and pin.  The Alpha Iota Chapter would like to recognize and sincerely thank Ms. Averette for her generous donation to the chapter to support our student members and chapter activities.

Delta Mu Delta was founded at New York University in 1913 to recognize and reward superior scholastic achievement of students with concentrations in Business Administration. The Athens State chapter was originally formed in 1970 with Professor Gene Ermert being its inaugural faculty adviser. Dr. Kim Roberts and Dr. John Berzett serve as the current chapter faculty advisers. The chapter has grown to be one of the largest and most active chapters within the national organization. The Alpha Iota chapter was the recipient of the 2017 Anthony J. Jablonsky Outstanding Chapter Award.  The Athens State chapter was also the recipient of the 2017 Star Chapter Award and is recognized as the most award-winning chapter with 16 annual recognitions.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]