Alpha Iota Chapter of Delta Mu Delta Wins Coveted Jablonsky Outstanding Chapter Award

Alpha Iota Chapter of Delta Mu Delta Wins Coveted Jablonsky Outstanding Chapter Award


Alpha Iota Chapter of Delta Mu Delta Wins Coveted Jablonsky Outstanding Chapter Award

[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]November 15, 2017

Jablonsky Award Presentation
Pictured left to right: Ms. Toni Harvey (Student Chapter President), Dr. Charles Finn (Delta Mu Delta National President). Dr. Kim Roberts (Faculty Adviser), and Dr. John Berzett (Faculty Co-Adviser)

Athens State University’s Alpha Iota Chapter of the Delta Mu Delta Honor Society was the recipient of the 2017 Anthony J. Jablonsky Outstanding Chapter Award. This prestigious award is presented to the chapter that not only exceeds Society standards, but has developed outstanding programs to provide additional service to members and creative ways to further chapter growth, development, and visibility.

Delta Mu Delta faculty advisers Dr. Kim Roberts and Dr. John Berzett and the Alpha Iota Chapter student president Ms. Toni Harvey accepted the award at the organization’s biennial conference in Baltimore, Maryland. Furthermore, the Athens State chapter was recognized for its Star Chapter status. The chapter is noted as the most award-winning Star Chapter in the organization’s history with 16 annual recognitions.

The 2017 conference offered students and faculty the opportunity to hear from distinguished speakers in the areas of networking and ethics. Drs. Roberts and Berzett presented “The Case for Conversation” during one of the breakout sessions, which explored the consequences of digital technology, the value of face-to-face conversation, and steps we can take to improve our conversation skills.

The Alpha Iota Chapter is very active on the Athens State campus. They sponsor members to attend leadership conferences and co-sponsor workshops that assist students in the job search process. They are in the process of conducting a clothing drive for a local organization which helps women in need to complete their GED and provides career and college readiness skills as well. They inducted their first graduate student member this year from the school’s Master’s in Global Logistics and Supply Chain Management program. In addition, student chapter members have received local and national recognition. Athens State’s Maria Rodriguez was the recipient of the 2017 Delta Mu Delta Regional Award, which included a $500 scholarship.

Roberts and Berzett acknowledge all previous Delta Mu Delta advisers at Athens State for building a foundation for continued growth. They would also like to thank Athens State students, faculty, and staff and the community for their support of the chapter.

Delta Mu Delta was founded at New York University in 1913 to recognize and reward superior scholastic achievement of students with concentrations in Business Administration. The Athens State chapter was originally formed in 1970. The chapter has grown to be one of the largest and most active chapters within the national organization. The Athens State University Delta Mu Delta chapter is housed within the College of Business.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]