Athens State University


Accounting Club Holds Honors and Awards Reception

Accounting Club Holds Honors and Awards Reception

Dateline: June 18, 2019

The Annual Accounting Honors and Awards Reception for Athens State University’s IMASC (Institute of Management Accountants Student Chapter), i.e. Accounting Club, was held April 18, 2019, in the Founders Hall Parlor. The Accounting faculty members and IMASC Faculty Advisors, Professor Emily Corzine, Dr. Diann Hammon, and Professor Christopher Nelson, recognized students receiving various scholarships and honored those students who have served as officers during the 2018-2019 academic year. This year the IMASC presented the following awards and scholarships:

  • IMASC Officers: President – Jacob Perdue, Vice-President – Taylor Hamilton, Secretary – Jared Boyd, Treasurer – Chazmyn David, Webmaster – Kalie Ferris, Historian – Colton Hicks, Communications Director – Angela Sotelo-Neri
  • Wiley CPA/CMA Ambassador – Samantha Jenkins
  • Becker CPA Ambassador – Colton Hicks
  • Wiley CPA/CMAexcel Review Materials Scholarship – Jared Boyd and Jacob Perdue
  • Becker CPA Review Materials 50% Scholarship – Kalie Ferris
  • ASCPA (Alabama Society of CPAs) Educational Foundation Scholarship – Tiffanie Duke
  • ASCPA Chairman’s Award – Victoria Conard
  • ASCPA Accounting Achievement Award – Jacob Perdue

The IMASC student organization currently has 73 members and has been named an Outstanding Student Chapter through the IMA’s Award of Excellence program. The student chapter successfully competed for the gold award of excellence, and only up to five of the gold award winners are named an Outstanding Student Chapter. The faculty advisors and student officers will be recognized in November at the IMA Student Leadership Conference in Charlotte, North Carolina before hundreds of students, professors, and business leaders from all over the world.